Dana Paramita

The first Paramita (see The Ten Paramitas) is Dana, or generosity, especially generosity of spirit. Some of the situations in which we fail in being generous may include:

  1. Stubbornly insisting on having things our own way

  2. Not respecting others; not listening with an open heart/mind

  3. Not answering questions; defying social expectations (How are you? What do you do?)

  4. Not accepting invitations

  5. Refusing gifts

  6. Not teaching (but, remember Upaya, skillful means)

  7. Not offering the Three Refuges

Of special note are 4 and 5. Is it always more blessed to give than to receive? If so, the generous act is to graciously receive so the other may be blessed by giving.